Home -> Cricket -> Indian Cricket Team

Indian Cricket Team

India ODI team
  1. Captain – Virat Kohli
  2. Head coach – Ravi Shastri
  3. Assistant coach – Bharat Arun
  4. Representing – India
  5. Team color – Blue
  6. Sponsorship – Nike, Byju’s


The Indian cricket team is governed by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) and also known as Team India and Men in Blue. Team India is the full member of the International Cricket Council (ICC) with One-Day International (ODI), Twenty20 International(T20I) status.

In 1792, the first cricket club was established. On 25 June 1932, the Indian national cricket team played its first Test match at Lord’s Stadium, becoming the 6ht team to get recognition in test cricket status. From 1932 India had to wait almost 20 years from 1932 to 1952, for its first Test victory.

India was one of the weak teams in its first 15 years of international cricket and won only 35 matches out of the first 196 Test match played. The team became strong in the 1970s with players such as batsmen Gavaskar, Viswanath, Kapil Dev.

Team India has picked up the Cricket World Cup twice – under the captaincy of Kapil Dev in 1983, and under the captaincy of Mahendra Singh Dhoni in 2011. Team India became the third team after West Indies and Australia to have won the World Cup more than once, and the first cricket team to win the World Cup at home after winning the 2011 World Cup. 

And under the captaincy of MS Dhoni also has won the ICC World Twenty20 in 2007 and ICC Champions Trophy in 2013. It also became the joint champions in ICC Champions Trophy in 2002, with Sri Lanka.

Governing Body

The governing body for the Indian cricket team and first-class cricket in India is the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI). Since 1929, the Board has been working and represents India at the International Cricket Council. 

It is one of the richest sports organizations in the world. BCCI sold media rights for US$612,000,000 for India’s matches from 2006–2010. The duty of BCCI is to manage the Indian team’s sponsorships, its future tours, and team selection.

Selection committee

Through the BCCI’s zonal selection policy, selection for the Indian cricket team is done where one selector and one of the members nominated by BCCI from each of the five zones to represent as the Chairman of the selection committee. Sometimes leading towards controversy that whether these selectors are biased towards their zones.

Sunil Joshi is the current chairman of the selection committee. From 4 March 2020, Devang Gandhi, Sarandeep Singh, Jatin Paranjpe, and Harvinder Singh are the other members of the selection committee.

Indian Team Jersey

The Indian jerseys have always been primarily blue. And have been made in different shades of blue. It also had a few short designs that are either in white or orange. Only once against England cricket team, the players wore an away jersey in the World Cup 2019 which was played in England. It was a dark blue jersey with an outline of orange.

Indian Cricket Team Players for CWC 2019

  1. Virat Kohli
  2. Shikhar Dhawan
  3. Rohit Sharma
  4. Lokesh Rahul
  5. Risabh Pant
  6. MS Dhoni
  7. Ravindra Jadeja
  8. Mayank Agarwal
  9. Vijay Shankar
  10. Yuzvendra Chahal
  11. Kuldeep Yadav
  12. Mohammad Shami
  13. Bhuvaneshwar Kumar
  14. Jasprit Bumrah


Our Indian national cricket team is full of talent, and has always made us proud no matter whether how many matches we had won, we will always cheer our players!

About BDM

Check Also

T20i women team

Indian Women’s National Cricket Team

In India the Women’s cricket arrived much later than men’s cricket, and in the year 1973 the Association of Women’s Cricket of India was established. In 1976, the Indian women's team played their first Test match against the West Indies team.