Home -> Cricket -> Indian Women’s National Cricket Team

Indian Women’s National Cricket Team

T20i women team
  1. Captain – Harmanpreet Kaur
  2. Head coach – Ramesh Powar
  3. Spin Bowling Coach- Narendra Hirwani
  4. Representing – India
  5. Team color – Blue


The Indian women cricket team also as popular as the Women in Blue is representing India in international women’s cricket game every year.

In India the Women’s cricket arrived much later than men’s cricket, and in the year 1973 the Association of Women’s Cricket of India was established. In 1976, the Indian women’s team played their first Test match against the West Indies team. 

India won its first Test in November 1978 against West Indies under the captaincy of Shantha Rangaswamy’s at the Moin-ul-Haq Stadium in Patna.

The team was merged with the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) as a part of the International Cricket Council’s (ICC) initiative to develop women’s cricket in 2006. By becoming the part of the BCCI, the Indian women’s cricket team proved that the women of the country are no less than the Indian cricket team. 

In 1978 World Cup was there One Day International (ODI) debut, and after that, the team has made twice to the World Cup final, in 2005, losing to Australia by 98 runs, and in 2017, losing to England by 9 runs. 

India has made three times to the semi-finals, in 1997, 2000, and 2009. In the year 2009, the Indian women cricket team was able to make it to the semi-finals in World Twenty 2020. Recently in 2020, for the first time, the team made the finals in World Twenty20, losing to Australia by 85 runs.

Governing body


The governing body for the Indian cricket team, and first-class cricket in India is the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI). Since 1929, the Board has been working and represents India at the International Cricket Council. 

It is one of the richest sports organizations in the world. BCCI sold media rights for US$612,000,000 for India’s matches from 2006–2010. The duty of BCCI is to manage the Indian team’s sponsorships, its future tours, and team selection. Without BCCI, the task of choosing the team becomes a bit difficult.

International grounds

Women’s international Test cricket matches were hosted by Fourteen grounds in India. On 31 October 1976, the first women’s international test cricket match was hosted in India which was played at the M. Chinnaswamy Stadium at Bangalore.

Women’s T20I matches were hosted in Six grounds in India on 4th March 2010, the first women’s T20 international match was hosted in India was held at the Bandra Kurla Complex Ground in Mumbai.


The team has reached twice to the final of the ICC World Cup in 2005 and 2017 but failed to get lift the trophy in both. And has made three times to the semi-finals, in 1997, 2000, and 2009. Team also reached the semi-finals in the first two of ICC Women’s World Twenty20 organized in 2009 and 2010.


It is believed that the Indian cricket team of men is the one that can do something, and till now there are many cities in India where if a woman is athletic, it is not considered a good thing. But our Indian Women cricket team players have proved that even if there are millions of obstacles on the way, one can achieve whatever they want from life.

About BDM

Check Also

India ODI team

Indian Cricket Team

The Indian cricket team is governed by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) and also known as Team India and Men in Blue. Team India is the full member of the International Cricket Council